The Fake Housewife - Brassica

Exploring Columbus

Happy Memorial Day!

One of my favorite things to do is explore different cities. This weekend, I explored the Short North Arts District in Columbus, Ohio.

My cousin and I saw that there was a Franz Ferdinand concert, so we decided to head to Columbus early and make a day of it.

First, we went to The Candle Lab and made our own candles! They had a bunch of different scents from which to choose, and the employees would help you create scent combinations based on your favorites. I ended up with coffee, sugar cookie and lavender. The lavender may make it seem like a weird combination, but I was told that it would give it a light floral scent so that it wasn’t so rich with the coffee and vanilla. I can’t wait to try it.

I overspent my budget for this trip because I bought way too much food. Yet, I allow myself to splurge a little on trips like these because I know that I can’t get some of these treats on a normal day. Sencha tea, ginger/apple/lemon juice and Tuscan olive oil were some of the foods and drinks that I tried.

We spent a while walking up and down High Street seeing what we’d stumble across. We ended up finding a record store and bought some old records for 99 cents. We ate 2 dinners because we wanted to try a couple of different restaurants: tacos at Condado and Mediterranean food at Brassica (pictured at the top of this post). Brassica is kind of like Chipotle, but you can create your own pita or salad. It was delicious! I tried falafel for the first time and really liked it. I would also recommend the mint beet pink lemonade (don’t worry, it doesn’t taste like beets).

Then it was time for the Franz Ferdinand concert! We were about four rows back from the stage. Omni, a band from Atlanta, opened the show. I would say that the Franz Ferdinand concert was one of the most fun concerts to which I’ve been because Alex Kapranos, the singer, looked like he was having fun and was very energetic!

It couldn’t have been a better day, with great weather, food and music!

Leave a Reply

