Social Media Detox

Okay, I know that as of late I haven’t been updating my blog as frequently as I should. As final exams and the end of the semester are approaching, I once again found my free time being eaten away by 30 page papers and group presentations. Realizing that I needed to be more productive, I tried a social media experiment.

When I was in London, I was barely on my phone. It was nice not being on social media for a week and exploring what was physically around me. When I got back to school, I felt like I needed to limit my social media usage.

I decided I needed to cut back on Twitter. I would spend too much time scrolling through every tweet, but I never felt happy after looking at Twitter. I was tired of seeing stupid memes, complaints, politics and negative messages. I decided to remove Twitter from my home screen on my phone (Samsung Galaxy). I noticed myself almost tapping the spot where Twitter had been out of habit. Instead of looking at Twitter every time I was bored, I only looked at it at night and maybe one other time per day. Thank goodness there were the “while you were away” tweets.

The reason why I am on social media so much is so that I am up-to-date with current happenings and so that I stay connected with people, even if I merely give them a “like” here and there. I have found that I am so much happier making this small change. It also relates to television. Ever since I started college, I barely had time to watch TV, and now I just choose not to watch it. I could focus on myself and being productive.

If you feel like social media are bringing you down, I encourage you to try a little detox. We don’t need to know what our friends are doing 24/7. You may find that you don’t miss social media as much as you originally thought.

Leave a Reply

