What Should I Give Up For Lent?

This probably sounds weird, but I usually look forward to Lent every year.

It’s kind of like my Catholic version of a New Year’s Resolution, but I am more likely to be successful with it because I knew I was doing it for God.

When I was younger, I would usually give up candy, pop or ice cream. I remember that when I gave up pop for Lent, I waited to see how long I could go without it, even once Lent ended. I don’t know how long it lasted, but, since then, I rarely drink pop. Last year, I gave up eating ice cream and taking long, hot showers. That was definitely something difficult to give up. One of my friends gave up eating cheese one year. Now that sounds really hard.

This year, instead of giving up something for Lent, I am going to read the Bible every day. It’s something that I wanted to do but have “never had the time” to do so. I think that this will bring me closer to God rather than giving up something.

If you’re having trouble thinking of something to give up for Lent, here are some ideas:

  1. Unhealthy food
  2. Watching TV
  3. Playing video games
  4. Alcohol
  5. Bad habits
  6. Procrastinating
  7. Skipping church
  8. Taking naps

Those were some options that I came up with off the top of my head. What have you given up in the past, and how difficult was it?

I like taking the time during Lent to reflect and think of ways to improve my life and relationship with God. It motivates me to stick to my resolution.

Also, what are your thoughts about having Sundays during Lent be a “cheat” day? Growing up, I had to go all 40 days without having whatever I gave up, so I will argue that not having to stick with it on Sundays is cheating. 😉

Good luck with your Lenten journey. Be sure to enjoy your Fat Tuesday as well!

-Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

