Good morning.

Right next to my bed, I have a piece of paper with the following phrases written in brightly colored Sharpies:

“Wake up! You won’t regret it.” “Don’t sleep your life away.” “You can sleep when you’re dead.”

I do this because I have the unpopular opinion that mornings are the best time of the day.

But believe me, I never had thought that way until recently.

On Mondays and Wednesdays, I do not have class until 12:30 p.m. Still, I set my alarms for 7:15 and 7:30 (but let’s be real, I don’t actually get up until about 7:45 or 8 a.m.).

If you’re in college, I know you’re probably thinking, “Why would you get up that early?? Especially if you’ve stayed up late writing a 10-page paper and you have nowhere to be until noon.”

I usually don’t stay up too late writing a paper, but mornings can be very productive. I know not all of you have nothing to do before noon like if you work or have morning classes, but even on the weekends, I try to not to sleep in too late.

On Twitter, I have recently seen a lot of tweets about sleeping and napping. I mean, who doesn’t love falling asleep? Yet, I still get mad at myself when I sleep a lot because I feel like I’m wasting my time. Sleep is a necessary waste of time, but I’d much rather be awake and productive as well as maintaining a somewhat regular sleep schedule. I know a lot of people, including myself, struggle with finding reasons to get up early.

So, here’s a list of what you could be doing instead of sleeping in:

  1. Cleaning
  2. Getting organized and writing goals for the day
  3. Exercising
  4. Enjoying breakfast
  5. Praying
  6. Reading/watching the new (besides social media)
  7. Getting a head start (or caught up) on homework
  8. Running errands
  9. Doing something you’ve always been meaning to do (like blogging!)

That list probably makes me sound like a grandma (I guess that fits the name of the blog, right? ha!); I’m sure the average person does not want to wake up and clean. I enjoy getting up and doing some of these things on my list because I am not hit with the stresses of the day yet. I haven’t received a bunch of emails and I haven’t been assigned big projects yet since classes are later in the day. It’s a great time to do something that you’ve been meaning to do, or it’s a great time to relax. My favorite thing to do in the morning is planning my day. It’s relaxing to just drink my green tea and write down my goals for the day or week.

I would like to point out that I have a 7:30 a.m. class on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I might not be as enthusiastic to wake up early on those days…lol.

I challenge you to try to get up earlier one morning and see what you think! What else do you like to do in the morning? Comment your thoughts!

 

I really shouldn’t be this excited about mornings.

 

Leave a Reply

